Meine Lesezeichen

Meine Events

  • Start
    Location
    End
    Language
Über uns

Kommuniqués


München, 11. Oktober 2017

153. Tagung des Verwaltungsrats der Europäischen Patentorganisation (München, 10. und 11. Oktober 2017)

Die 153. Tagung des Verwaltungsrats der Europäischen Patentorganisation fand unter dem Vorsitz von Herrn Christoph ERNST (DE) am 10. und 11. Oktober 2017 in München statt.

Ein zentraler Punkt war die Wahl des nächsten Präsidenten des Europäischen Patentamts. Dazu wurde ein gesondertes Kommuniqué veröffentlicht.

Der Verwaltungsrat nahm die Tätigkeitsberichte seines Präsidenten und des Präsidenten des Europäischen Patentamts, Benoît BATTISTELLIS, zur Kenntnis. In der anschließenden Diskussion über den Bericht des Amtspräsidenten lobte der Rat erneut das Amt und sein Personal für die ausgezeichneten Ergebnisse. Außerdem nahm er den erstmaligen Bericht des Präsidenten der Beschwerdekammern nach der Reform von 2016 zur Kenntnis.

Der Rat nahm ferner zur Kenntnis, was die jeweiligen Vorsitzenden aus den letzten Sitzungen der folgenden Gremien berichteten: Beschwerdekammerausschuss, Aufsichtsrat des Reservefonds für Pensionen und soziale Sicherheit, Aufsichtsrat der Akademie der EPO, Engerer Ausschuss.

Anschließend nahm der Rat mehrere Wahlen und Ernennungen zur Besetzung von Positionen in seinen Gremien vor. Insbesondere wählte er Herrn Lex Kaufhold für drei Jahre mit Wirkung zum 10. Oktober 2017 zum Vorsitzenden des Haushalts- und Finanzausschusses. Des Weiteren beschloss der Rat Ernennungen und Wiederernennungen zur Besetzung von Positionen in der Großen Beschwerdekammer, den Beschwerdekammern und der Beschwerdekammer in Disziplinarangelegenheiten.

Der Rat führte einen Meinungsaustausch über den ersten jährlichen Qualitätsbericht. Er äußerte sich zufrieden über die angewandte Methodik sowie die gemessenen Leistungen.

Unter der Rubrik Rechtsfragen ermächtigte der Rat den Präsidenten des Amts zur Verlängerung der Vereinbarung zwischen EPO und WIPO über das EPA als Internationale Recherchenbehörde und mit der internationalen vorläufigen Prüfung beauftragte Behörde nach dem PCT.

In Sachen Reservefonds für Pensionen und soziale Sicherheit (RFPSS) überprüfte der Rat die Zusammensetzung und das Kompetenzprofil des RFPSS-Aufsichtsrats und billigte einstimmig eine überarbeitete Governance.

Abschließend hielt der Rat einen eingehenden Meinungsaustausch über den Sozialbericht des Amts für 2016, dessen Vollständigkeit und Transparenz hoch geschätzt wurden.

Ratssekretariat


München, 10. Oktober 2017

153. Tagung des Verwaltungsrats der Europäischen Patentorganisation (München, 10. und 11. Oktober 2017) - Wahl

António CAMPINOS zum nächsten EPA-Präsidenten gewählt

Am 10. Oktober 2017 wählte der Verwaltungsrat der Europäischen Patentorganisation unter dem Vorsitz seines Präsidenten Christoph ERNST (DE) in München Herrn António CAMPINOS zum nächsten Präsidenten des Europäischen Patentamts (EPA). Herr CAMPINOS tritt die Nachfolge von Benoît BATTISTELLI an; seine fünfjährige Amtszeit beginnt am 1. Juli 2018.

Der Portugiese steht derzeit an der Spitze des Amts der Europäischen Union für geistiges Eigentum (EUIPO). Davor war er Präsident des portugiesischen Amts für gewerblichen Rechtsschutz (INPI). In dieser Funktion hat er lange Jahre Portugal im Verwaltungsrat der Europäischen Patentorganisation vertreten.

Der Verwaltungsrat setzt sich aus Delegationen aller Mitgliedstaaten zusammen und ist das Legislativorgan der Organisation. Er überwacht die Tätigkeit des Amts, genehmigt den Haushalt und ernennt hohe Beamte wie den Präsidenten des EPA.

Ratspräsident ERNST gratulierte Herrn CAMPINOS zur Wahl und sagte: "Es freut mich sehr, dass der Rat heute diese wichtige Entscheidung treffen konnte. Mit Herrn CAMPINOS traf die Wahl auf einen ausgezeichneten Kandidaten. Ich bin überzeugt, dass unsere Organisation mit ihm an der Spitze ein weiteres Kapitel ihrer ungebrochenen Erfolgsgeschichte schreiben wird."

Die Europäische Patentorganisation ist eine zwischenstaatliche Organisation. Sie wurde durch das Europäische Patentübereinkommen (EPÜ) gegründet, das 1973 in München geschlossen wurde und am 7. Oktober 1977 in Kraft trat. Der Organisation gehören derzeit 38 Staaten an: alle 28 Mitgliedstaaten der Europäischen Union sowie Albanien, die ehemalige jugoslawische Republik Mazedonien, Island, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norwegen, San Marino, die Schweiz, Serbien und die Türkei. Ihre Aufgabe ist die Erteilung europäischer Patente nach dem EPÜ durch das Europäische Patentamt.

Mit fast 7 000 Mitarbeitern ist das EPA eine der größten Behörden in Europa. Sein Hauptsitz ist in München; Niederlassungen gibt es in Berlin, Brüssel, Den Haag und Wien. Das EPA wurde mit dem Ziel gegründet, die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Staaten Europas auf dem Gebiet des Patentwesens zu stärken. Dank des zentralisierten Verfahrens vor dem EPA können Erfinder hochwertigen Patentschutz in bis zu 42 Staaten erlangen, die zusammen einen Markt von rund 700 Millionen Menschen umfassen. Das EPA ist außerdem weltweit führend in den Bereichen Patentinformation und Patentrecherche.

Ratssekretariat


München, 25. August 2017

21. Sitzung des Engeren Ausschusses der an der Verstärkten Zusammenarbeit im Hinblick auf einen einheitlichen Patentschutz teilnehmenden EU-Staaten (Den Haag, 27. Juni 2017)

Die 21. Sitzung des Engeren Ausschusses der Europäischen Patentorganisation fand am 27. Juni 2017 in Den Haag statt; den Vorsitz führte Jerôme DEBRULLE, Conseiller Général de l'Office Belge de la Propriété Intellectuelle.

Der Ausschuss nahm Kenntnis von einem Bericht über den Stand der Ratifizierung des Übereinkommens über ein Einheitliches Patentgericht (EPG-Übereinkommen) und des Protokolls zum Übereinkommen über ein Einheitliches Patentgericht betreffend die vorläufige Anwendung (Protokoll über die vorläufige Anwendung) in den teilnehmenden Mitgliedstaaten. Er war sich mit der Europäischen Kommission in der Zielsetzung einig, auf weitere Ratifikationen und Verpflichtungserklärungen hinzuwirken, um von Anfang an möglichst viele teilnehmende Staaten zu haben. Ferner nahm der Ausschuss aktualisierte Informationen der Europäischen Kommission zum patentbezogenen Aktionsplan für Unterstützungsmaßnahmen zugunsten von KMU zur Kenntnis.

Der Ausschuss befasste sich auch mit der Zusicherung, dass die wichtigsten technischen Aspekte des einheitlichen Patentschutzes (UPP) rechtzeitig zur Einführung geregelt sein würden. So nahm er Kenntnis von den Fortschritten bei den technischen Spezifikationen für die Datenübertragung und die neuen elektronischen bibliografischen Daten sowie beim Transfer von Daten in Bezug auf ergänzende Schutzzertifikate.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der Sitzung war die Planung einer externen Kommunikations-, Werbe- und Sensibilisierungskampagne zum einheitlichen Patentschutz. Der Ausschuss begrüßte das in der Entwicklung befindliche umfassende Paket von Produkten und Diensten, insbesondere den ausführlichen Nutzerleitfaden. Ferner ließ er sich über die nationalen Maßnahmen im Zusammenhang mit der Einführung des einheitlichen Patentschutzes unterrichten, die derzeit im Rahmen einer Befragung ermittelt werden. Ein Überblick über alle eingegangenen Antworten soll veröffentlicht werden, sobald der einheitliche Patentschutz in Kraft getreten ist. 

Abschließend nahm der Ausschuss den Bericht Estlands - das im zweiten Halbjahr 2017 die EU-Ratspräsidentschaft innehat - über den erfolgreichen Abschluss des dortigen parlamentarischen Ratifikationsverfahrens zur Kenntnis. 

Sekretariat des Engeren Ausschusses


München, 10. Juli 2017

152. Tagung des Verwaltungsrats der Europäischen Patentorganisation (Den Haag, 28. und 29. Juni 2017)

Die 152. Tagung des Verwaltungsrats der Europäischen Patentorganisation fand unter dem Vorsitz von Jesper KONGSTAD, dem Generaldirektor des dänischen Patentamts, am 28. und 29. Juni 2017 in Den Haag statt.

Nach dem Bericht des Ratspräsidenten über die letzten Sitzungen des Präsidiums des Verwaltungsrats nahm der Rat den Tätigkeitsbericht des Präsidenten des Europäischen Patentamts, Benoît BATTISTELLIS, zur Kenntnis. In der anschließenden Diskussion über diese Berichte führte der Rat einen Meinungsaustausch über die soziale Situation. Dazu hörte er insbesondere eine Erklärung der niederländischen Delegation. Einmal mehr zeigte sich der Rat erfreut über die hervorragenden Ergebnisse, die das Amt in Bezug auf Produktion, Produktivität und Qualität aufzuweisen hat.

Unter der Rubrik Allgemeine Angelegenheiten nahm der Rat die jüngst angelaufene, amtsweite Umorganisation der Dienste zur Kenntnis, insbesondere die für die GD 1 und GD 2 geltenden Prinzipien und Hauptmerkmale im Kontext der Digitalisierung, die klareren Zuständigkeiten und die höhere Effizienz im Zuge der durchgängigen Bearbeitung. Er tauschte sich auch darüber aus, dass die Klarheit der neuen Rollen und Rechenschaftspflichten gewährleistet werden müssten, und genehmigte die Anpassung des Tätigkeitsportfolios des VP 2. Dementsprechend ernannte er Alberto CASADO einstimmig zum neuen, für die gesamten Patenterteilungstätigkeiten zuständigen Vizepräsidenten, dem drei Chief Operating Officers und rund 5 000 Prüfer und Formalsachbearbeiter unterstellt sind. Außerdem nutzte der Rat die Gelegenheit, um den langjährigen Vizepräsidenten GD 1, Guillaume MINNOYE, zu verabschieden, der am 30. Juni nach einer herausragenden Karriere in den Ruhestand trat.

Der Rat nahm ferner zur Kenntnis, was die jeweiligen Vorsitzenden aus den letzten Sitzungen der diversen beratenden Ausschüsse berichteten: der Ausschuss "Patentrecht", der Ausschuss für technische und operative Unterstützung, der Beschwerdekammerausschuss, der Aufsichtsrat der Reservefonds für Pensionen und soziale Sicherheit, der Haushalts- und Finanzausschuss und der Engere Ausschuss. Der Vorsitzende des Engeren Ausschusses sowie die Delegationen aus Malta und Estland - den beiden Ländern, die bis zum 30. Juni bzw. ab dem 1. Juli die EU-Ratspräsidentschaft innehaben - informierten den Rat über die jüngsten Entwicklungen und den Stand des Einheitspatents in den teilnehmenden Mitgliedstaaten; dabei gingen sie auch auf die konkreten Ereignisse im Vereinigten Königreich und in Deutschland ein.

Danach nahm der Rat mehrere Ernennungen und Wahlen vor. Als Erstes wurde Christoph ERNST (DE) einstimmig für einen Zeitraum von drei Jahren, der am 1. Oktober 2017 beginnt, zum Präsidenten des Rats gewählt. Anschließend wurde ein Mitglied des Kollegiums der Rechnungsprüfer, Ola HOLLUM (NO), wieder ernannt. Der Rat beschloss ferner, nur die zur Wiederernennung vorgeschlagenen Mitglieder der Beschwerdekammern wieder zu ernennen.

Des Weiteren einigte sich der Rat auf das Verfahren zur Bestimmung des Stellvertreters des Präsidenten der Beschwerdekammern und nahm das geplante Verfahren zur Kenntnis, das die Tätigkeiten ehemaliger Beschwerdekammermitglieder nach Beendigung des Dienstverhältnisses regeln soll. Abschließend befürwortete der Rat einstimmig den vom Ratspräsidenten eingebrachten Vorschlag zur Vorbereitung der Wahl des künftigen Präsidenten des Amts, der seine Tätigkeit am 1. Juli 2018 aufnehmen soll.

Unter der Rubrik Recht und internationale Angelegenheiten nahm der Rat die bemerkenswerte Entwicklung bei den Validierungsabkommen zur Kenntnis und befürwortete die Anträge von Brunei und Angola, Verhandlungen über ein Validierungsabkommen aufzunehmen. Daran schloss sich ein umfassender Meinungsaustausch über den Ausschluss von der Patentierbarkeit von durch im Wesentlichen biologische Verfahren gewonnenen Pflanzen und Tieren an, der die Diskussion im letzten Ausschuss "Patentrecht" ergänzte und u. a. einer unlängst von der Europäischen Kommission veröffentlichten Mitteilung Rechnung trug. Der Rat genehmigte den Vorschlag des Amts zur Änderung der EPÜ-Ausführungsordnung, um zügig eine möglichst weitreichende Harmonisierung und Rechtssicherheit zu gewährleisten. Er nahm zugleich die bevorstehenden Änderungen der Prüfungsrichtlinien zur Kenntnis, die mit diesem Beschluss einhergehen, und gab an, zu gegebener Zeit wieder auf das Thema zurückzukommen, wenn Erfahrungen mit den neuen Vorschriften gesammelt wurden.

Was die Reservefonds für Pensionen und soziale Sicherheit (RFPSS) betraf, so lobte der Rat die herausragenden Ergebnisse, die der Fondsverwalter und sein Team 2016 erzielt haben. Die Entscheidung über die neuen Vorschläge betreffend die Zusammensetzung und das Kompetenzprofil des RFPSS-Aufsichtsrats wurde vertagt. Der Rat beauftragte das Präsidium, diese Frage in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Präsidenten des Amts zu erörtern.

Im Bereich Personalangelegenheiten lobte der Rat den umfassenden und ausgewogenen Vorschlag zur Änderung des Beamtenstatuts, der sich auf Verhaltensnormen, Ethik und die Reform des internen Rechtssystems erstreckt, als wichtigen Schritt nach vorn zur Verbesserung der sozialen Situation. Er genehmigte den Vorschlag einstimmig und kündigte an, dass zu gegebener Zeit, d. h. innerhalb von 2 bis 3 Jahren, eine Überprüfung des Sachstands auf der Grundlage der bis dahin gemachten Erfahrungen stattfinden wird.

Der Rat genehmigte einstimmig den Jahresabschluss 2016 zusammen mit dem Bericht des Kollegiums der Rechnungsprüfer für das Geschäftsjahr 2016 und erteilte dem Amtspräsidenten sowie dem Verwalter der RFPSS Entlastung. Ferner gab er eine positive Stellungnahme zu den vorläufigen Leitlinien für das Budget 2018 ab, die auch einen Vorschlag des Amts zur Aussetzung der inflationsbedingten Gebührenanpassung enthalten.

Im Übrigen beschloss der Rat, den ersten jährlichen Qualitätsbericht sowie den jährlichen Sozialbericht auf der Oktobertagung zur Diskussion vorzulegen.

Zu guter Letzt würdigte der Verwaltungsrat Jesper KONGSTAD, der nach über 7-jähriger Tätigkeit als Ratspräsident am 30. September aus seinem Amt ausscheidet, und verabschiedete die Leiterin der schwedischen Delegation, Susanne ÅS SIVBORG.

Ratssekretariat


München, 17. März 2017

151. Tagung des Verwaltungsrats der Europäischen Patentorganisation (München, 15. und 16. März 2017)

Die 151. Tagung des Verwaltungsrats fand unter dem Vorsitz von Jesper Kongstad, Generaldirektor des dänischen Patentamts, am 15. und 16. März 2017 in München statt.

Im Anschluss an den Tätigkeitsbericht des Ratspräsidenten, in dem dieser insbesondere auf die letzte Sitzung des Präsidiums des Verwaltungsrats einging, nahm der Rat den Tätigkeitsbericht des Präsidenten des Europäischen Patentamts, Benoît Battistellis, zur Kenntnis und zeigte sich erfreut über die exzellenten Ergebnisse des Amts.

Der Rat führte einen Meinungsaustausch über das soziale Klima im Amt und über das Verfahren zur Ernennung des nächsten Amtspräsidenten.

Ferner bestätigte der Rat Sean Dennehey (GB) in seinem Amt als Vorsitzender des Ausschusses "Patentrecht" für eine weitere Amtszeit von drei Jahren, ernannte drei Mitglieder des Aufsichtsrats der Akademie der Europäischen Patentorganisation und nahm mehrere Ernennungen und Wiederernennungen von Beschwerdekammermitgliedern vor.

Den Abschluss bildeten kurze mündliche Berichte zum einheitlichen Patent, vorgetragen von der maltesischen Delegation als Vertreterin des Landes, das im ersten Halbjahr 2017 die EU-Ratspräsidentschaft innehat, sowie vom Vertreter der Europäischen Kommission und vom Vorsitzenden des Engeren Ausschusses.

Ratssekretariat

My bookmarks

My events

  • Start
    Location
    End
    Language
About us

Communiqués


Munich, 11 October 2017

153rd meeting of the Administrative Council of the European Patent Organisation (Munich, 10 and 11 October 2017)

The Administrative Council of the European Patent Organisation held its 153rd meeting in Munich on 10 and 11 October 2017 under the chairmanship of Christoph ERNST (DE).

A central issue was the election of the next President of the European Patent Office. A special Communiqué has been issued in this respect.

The Administrative Council noted the activities reports given respectively by its Chairman and by the President of the European Patent Office, Benoît BATTISTELLI. In the ensuing discussion on the latter, the Council praised again the Office and its staff for the excellent results achieved. It also took note of the first report of the President of the Boards of Appeal, following the reform adopted in 2016.

The Council further noted the oral reports from the chairpersons of its advisory bodies on their recent meetings: Boards of Appeal Committee, Supervisory Board of the Reserve Funds for Pensions and Social Security, Supervisory Board of the EPO Academy, and Select Committee.

The Council then proceeded with a series of elections and appointments to its advisory bodies. In particular it elected Mr Lex Kaufhold Chairman of the Budget and Finance Committee for 3 years, starting on 10 October 2017. The Council also decided on appointments and re-appointments to the Enlarged Board of Appeal, the Boards of Appeal and the Disciplinary Board of Appeal.

The Council carried out an exchange of views on the first ever Annual Report on Quality. It expressed its satisfaction both on the methodology developed and on the measured achievements.

In respect of legal affairs the Council authorised the President of the Office to renew the EPO-WIPO Agreement in relation to the functioning of the EPO as an International Searching Authority and as an International Preliminary Examining Authority under the PCT.

Turning to matters concerning the Reserve Funds for Pensions and Social Security (RFPSS), the Council reviewed the composition and competence profile of the RFPSS Supervisory Board and unanimously endorsed a revised governance.

At last, the Council held a thorough exchange of views on the Office’s social report for 2016, which comprehensiveness and transparency were most appreciated.

Council Secretariat


Munich, 10 October 2017

153rd meeting of the Administrative Council of the European Patent Organisation (Munich, 10 and 11 October 2017) - Election

Mr António CAMPINOS elected next EPO President

The Administrative Council of the European Patent Organisation, meeting in Munich on 10 October 2017 under the chairmanship of Mr Christoph ERNST (DE), has elected Mr António CAMPINOS to succeed Mr Benoît BATTISTELLI as President of the European Patent Office (EPO). Mr CAMPINOS' 5-year term will start on 1 July 2018.

A Portuguese national, Mr CAMPINOS is currently Executive Director of the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO). He is also a former President of the Portuguese Institute of Industrial Property (INPI). In the latter function, he has been for many years the Portuguese representative on the Administrative Council of the European Patent Organisation.

The Administrative Council, made up of the delegations from all member states, is the Organisation's legislative body. It is responsible for supervising the activities of the Office, approving the budget and appointing senior employees, including the President of the EPO.

The Chairman of the Administrative Council, Mr ERNST, congratulated Mr CAMPINOS on his election: "I am happy that the Council was able to reach a decision today on this very important matter, and to find in Mr CAMPINOS an excellent candidate. With him, I am confident that our Organisation will add another thriving chapter to its continued success story."

The European Patent Organisation is an intergovernmental organisation set up on the basis of the EPC, which was signed in Munich in 1973 and entered into force on 7 October 1977. The Organisation currently has 38 member states - all of the 28 EU members, plus Albania, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, Serbia, Switzerland and Turkey. Its task is to oversee the granting of European patents under the EPC by the European Patent Office.

With nearly 7 000 staff, the European Patent Office (EPO) is one of the largest public service institutions in Europe. Headquartered in Munich with offices in Berlin, Brussels, The Hague and Vienna, the EPO was founded with the aim of strengthening co-operation on patents in Europe. Through the EPO's centralised patent granting procedure, inventors are able to obtain high-quality patent protection in up to 42 countries, covering a market of around 700 million people. The EPO is also the world's leading authority in patent information and patent searching.

Council Secretariat  


Munich, 25 August 2017

21st meeting of the Select Committee of EU Member States participating in the enhanced cooperation on Unitary Patent Protection (The Hague, 27 June 2017)

The Select Committee of the European Patent Organisation held its 21st meeting in The Hague on 27th June 2017, under the chairmanship of Jerôme DEBRULLE, Conseiller Général de l'Office Belge de la Propriété Intellectuelle.

The Committee took note of a status report regarding the state of play of the ratification procedures concerning the Agreement on a Unified Patent Court (UPCA) and the Protocol to the Agreement on a Unified Patent Court on provisional application (Protocol on provisional application) in the participating Member States. It shared with the European Commission the objective to push for further ratifications and declarations to be bound, in order to have from start as many participating States as possible. The Committee further took note of an update provided by the European Commission on the patent-related action plan concerning support measures for SMEs.

The Committee further devoted time to the assurance that key technical aspects of the Unitary Patent Protection (UPP) would be ready at the time of implementation. Therefore, it took note of the progress achieved with technical specifications for data transfer and the new Electronic Bibliographic Data, as well as with the transfer of data concerning supplementary protection certificates.

Another focus of the meeting was the plan concerning external communication, promotion, and awareness-raising campaigns to be envisaged in relation to the UPP package. The Committee welcomed the comprehensive set of products and services being developed and in particular an extensive User Guide. It was also updated on the national measures accompanying the implementation of the UPP, which are being collected via a questionnaire. An overview of all replies received will be published once the UPP will have become operational. 

Finally the Committee took note of the report by Estonia, the country holding the EU presidency for the 2nd half of 2017, on the successful finalisation of its own parliamentary ratification procedure.  

Select Committee Secretariat


Munich, 10 July 2017

152nd meeting of the Administrative Council of the European Patent Organisation (The Hague, 28 and 29 June 2017)

The Administrative Council of the European Patent Organisation held its 152nd meeting in The Hague on 28 and 29 June 2017 under the chairmanship of Jesper KONGSTAD, Director General of the Danish Patent and Trademark Office.

After the Chairman's report on the most recent meetings of the Board of the Administrative Council, the Council noted the oral activities report given by the President of the European Patent Office, Benoît BATTISTELLI. In the ensuing discussion on these reports, the Council carried-out an exchange of views on the social situation. In particular, it heard a statement by the Dutch delegation concerning this issue. Once again the Council was pleased with the outstanding results reported by the Office in terms of production, productivity and quality.

Under the heading of General Affairs, the Council took note of the Office-wide re-organisation of services which just started, and in particular of the principles and features applicable to DG1 and DG2 in the context of digitalization, clearer responsibilities and higher efficiency strived through end-to-end processing. It further exchanged views on the need to ensure clarity of the new roles and reporting lines, and agreed to the readjustment of the VP2 portfolio of activities. It therefore unanimously nominated Alberto CASADO to the new position of Vice-President in charge of all patent granting activities, supervising 3 Chief Operating Officers and roughly 5000 examiners and formalities officers. The Council also took the opportunity to bid farewell to the long-serving Vice-President DG1, Guillaume MINNOYE, who is retiring on 30 June after an outstanding career.

The Council further noted the oral reports from the chairpersons of its various advisory bodies on their recent meetings: Patent Law Committee, Technical and Operational Support Committee, Boards of Appeal Committee, Supervisory Board of the Reserve Funds for Pensions and Social Security, Budget and Finance Committee and Select Committee. In respect of the latter, it was informed by the chairman and by the delegations of Malta and Estonia, being the countries holding until 30 June and from 1 July the Presidency of the EC, about the latest developments and progress on the Unitary Patent in the participating Member States, including the particular events in the United Kingdom and Germany.

The Council then proceeded with a series of appointments and elections. It firstly unanimously elected Christoph ERNST (DE) to become Chairman of the Council for 3 years, starting on 1 October 2017. It then re-appointed one member of the Board of Auditors, Ola HOLLUM (NO). The Council also decided to re-appoint to the Boards of Appeal only those persons put forward for re-appointment.

The Council also agreed the procedure for designating the deputy of the President of the Boards of Appeal and took note of the intended procedure to handle after-service activities of former members of these Boards. Finally the Council unanimously endorsed the proposal prepared by its Chairman regarding the procedural preparations for the election of the future President of the Office to take office on 1 July 2018.

Under the heading Legal and International Affairs, the Council took note of the significant development of validation agreements and endorsed the requests of Brunei and Angola to enter into negotiations on a validation agreement. It then had a broad exchange of view on the exclusion from patentability of plants and animals produced by essentially biological processes, complementing the discussion in the latest Committee on Patent Law and reflecting inter alia the recent production by the European Commission of a Notice on the issue. The Council approved the Office proposal to amend the EPC Implementing Regulations in order to ensure very swiftly as much harmonization and legal certainty as possible. It further took note of the forthcoming adjustments of the Examination Guidelines, as a consequence of this decision, and indicated that it will revert to the issue in due course, when experience is gathered with the new provisions.

Turning to matters concerning the Reserve Funds for Pensions and Social Security (RFPSS), the Council welcomed the outstanding results achieved by the Administrator and his team in 2016, and decided to defer its decision on the new proposals for a revised composition and competence profile of the RFPSS Supervisory Board. It gave the Board 28 a mandate to examine the question in collaboration with the President of the Office.

In personnel matters, the Council welcomed the comprehensive and balanced proposal for revised Service Regulations, covering the standards of conduct and ethics and the reform of the internal justice system, as a step forward in improving the social situation. It thus unanimously adopted the proposal and indicated that a review of the progress achieved should take place in due course i.e. within 2 to 3 years from now, based on experience gathered in the meantime.

The Council then unanimously approved the Financial Statements for 2016, together with the Board of Auditors' annual report on the 2016 accounting period, and discharged the President of the Office and the Administrator of the RFPSS. It further delivered a positive opinion on the initial 2018 budgetary orientations including the Office proposal concerning the freeze of the inflation-related fee adjustment.

In addition, the Council decided that the first ever annual report on quality, as well as the annual social report, should be tabled for discussion in its October meeting.

Finally the Administrative Council paid tribute to Jesper KONGSTAD, who served as its Chairman for more than 7 years and will step down on 30 September, and also bid farewell to the head of the Swedish delegation, Susanne ÅS SIVBORG.

Council Secretariat


Munich, 17 March 2017

151st meeting of the Administrative Council of the European Patent Organisation (Munich, 15 and 16 March 2017)

The Administrative Council held its 151st meeting in Munich on 15 and 16 March 2017, with Jesper Kongstad, Director General of the Danish Patent Office, in the chair.

After the Chairman's activities report, covering in particular the last meeting of the Board of the Administrative Council, the Council noted the activities report given by the President of the European Patent Office, Benoît Battistelli. The Council was pleased with the excellent results achieved by the Office.

The Council had an exchange of views on the social situation at the Office and on the issue of the appointment procedure for the next President.

The Council re-elected the chairman of the Committee on Patent Law, Sean Dennehey (GB), for a term of three years. It then made three appointments to the Supervisory Board of the Academy of the European Patent Organisation and a number of appointments and reappointments to the Boards of Appeal.

Lastly, the Council heard brief oral reports on the unitary patent by the Maltese delegation representing the country holding the EU presidency in the first half of 2017, as well as by the representative of the European Commission and the chairman of the Select Committee.

Council Secretariat